Source Protection Committee Members

Niagara Peninsula Source Protection Committee Chair – Bill Hodgson

After graduating with a BA and a Masters degree in Agricultural Geography from the University of Guelph, Bill spent five years as Senior Greenbelt Planner with the National Capital Commission in Ottawa.

In 1982, he and his wife Mary bought the family greenhouse and tender fruit farm in Vineland Station, where they reside today. Bill was a member of the OFA 1982/2008, and was a member of the Ontario Institute of Agrologists, Niagara Branch. (P.Ag)

Bill spent eleven years as a Public-School Board Trustee, serving several terms as Chair. He led the team that planned and implemented the amalgamation that established the District School Board of Niagara, and he served as a Vice-President of the Ontario Public School Boards Association 2000/2003.

In 2003, Bill was elected Mayor of the Town of Lincoln, serving eleven years as Mayor and fifteen years as a Niagara Regional Councillor before retiring from his political role in 2018.

As a Regional Councillor, Bill served as Chair of the Integrated Community Planning Committee 2010/2014, Chair of the Agricultural Committee and Task Force 2006/2018, and was Vice-Chair and then  Chair of the Golden Horseshoe Food and Farming Alliance 2012/2019.

Niagara Peninsula Source Protection Committee – Appointed Members

On November 21, 2007 , the Niagara Peninsula Source Protection Authority appointed members to the Drinking Water Source Protection Committee, as required under Regulation 288/07 of the Clean Water Act, 2006 .  The regulation requires that the Niagara Peninsula Source Protection Committee have 9 members (plus a Chair appointed by the Province), representing municipalities, economic sectors and the public.

The committee selection process in the Niagara Peninsula Source Protection Area included a public call for applications for economic sector and public interest seats. In addition, the municipalities selected one representative each from Niagara Region, City of Hamilton and Haldimand County . Following a detailed review of all applications, candidates were recommended for appointment to the committee based on a number of criteria including professional and volunteer experience, ability to meet time and meeting commitments, possessing a degree of technical competency and location of residence in the watershed.

Source Protection Committee Member Biography Summaries

Niagara Region Councillor Tom Insinna

To be completed.

Haldimand County Councillor Rob Shirton

To be completed.

Carmen Vega

To be completed.

Robert Bator

Mr. Bator has been a landowner and tender fruit and grapes farmer in Niagara-on-the-Lake for over 30 years.  He is a Director of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture, and a Vice-president of the Niagara North Federation of Agriculture.  Mr. Bator presently sits on the Agriculture Sub-committee of the Region of Niagara, and was a member of the task group that completed the Agricultural Impact Study for Niagara.  He was also part of the working group that produced the guidelines for ‘On Farm Food Safety’ in Ontario.  Robert Bator holds an Honours Bachelor of Science in Biology and Chemistry from University of Waterloo.

Drew Semple

Mr. Drew Semple is a resident of the City of St. Catharines who has recently retired from the Regional Municipality of Niagara after more than 33 years of employment as a Senior Policy Planner with the Integrated Community Planning Department. Mr. Semple carried out public land use policy research and development focusing most recently on agricultural and rural development and resource management issues. Prior to working for the Niagara Region, Mr. Semple worked for the City of Ottawa as a neighbourhood and development plan reviewer.

Semple graduated with an Honors degree in Urban Geography from the University of Toronto and later received a Masters of Science in Urban and Regional Planning also from the University of Toronto. Mr. Semple is a member of the Canadian Institute of Planners and a Registered Professional Planner.

Adrin Willems

Mr. Willems is a resident of St Catharines. Recently retired from the automotive sector, where he was employed as a licenced industrial electrician, he was also a qualified ISO 14001 environmental auditor. He participated on the Niagara Water Quality Protection Strategy as part of the Natural Environment Technical Advisory Committee. Mr. Willems is a volunteer with the NPCA, taking part in various projects.

Annie Michaud

Ms. Annie Michaud is a resident of St. Catharines and has been working in the environmental field for over 15 years in both the public and private sectors. She is currently working as a Water Resources Engineer at Terra-Dynamics Consulting Inc. in St. Catharines, where she specializes in projects related to water quality, hydrology, and hydrogeology. She is also a professor at Niagara College in the School of Environmental Studies, where she teaches in the Environmental Technician Program and the post-graduate Environmental Management and Assessment program. Ms. Michaud holds a Bachelor of Environmental Science degree from Queen’s University and a Masters of Environmental Engineering degree from the University of Guelph. Ms. Michaud is a practicing member of Professional Engineers Ontario and a member of the Ontario Water Works Association.

Carl Bodimeade

Mr. Carl Bodimeade is a Professional Engineer with over 35 years of experience in project management, engineering and planning, focusing on water, wastewater and stormwater. He is currently Senior Vice President of Hatch Infrastructure. Mr. Bodimeade has led and participated in a number of boards and committees including the Ontario Coalition for Sustainable Infrastructure, the Toronto Region Board of Trade’s Infrastructure Committee and Smart City Working Group, and the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure. Mr. Bodimeade is a resident of Pelham, where he and his wife operate an organic, pick-your-own blueberry farm in Ridgeville.

Darren Fry

Growing up along the shore of the Upper Niagara River, Mr. Darren Fry developed a keen interest in Niagara’s water resources at an early age. Mr. Fry holds diplomas in Geological and Geotechnical Engineering Technology from Fleming College and over 18 years of experience in the waste management sector in Canada and the United States. Mr. Fry is currently the Director of Strategic Growth with Walker Environmental Inc. Among many of his professional achievements, Mr. Fry is proud to have played a leadership role in remediating and rehabilitating several old, non-engineered closed industrial landfill sites throughout the Niagara Region resulting in improved localized surface and groundwater conditions. Mr. Fry has specific expertise in constructed wetland treatment systems, stormwater management, and groundwater containment and treatment technologies.

Former Members of the Committee

We appreciate the significant contribution of the past members of the committee, who are listed below:

Mark Neufeld – Chair

Maria Bellantino Perco – Chair

Mr. David A. Renshaw

Erwin Schneider

David Kerr

Paul Grenier

Brian Antonsen

Dean Ostryhon

Don Ricker

Tim Rigby

Tony Dalimonte